Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/08/2018, 01:17 PM   #1
BaleKlocoon
Registered Member

Storing Water

I'm brand new to the hobby, I just bought a used 90 gallon tank from craigslist. Looking into buying an RO/DI unit and I have some questions about storing the water. I'm store the unit in the attic or something when I'm not using it. I'd like to make 55 gallons at once and store it until I run out. Looking into buying a 55 gallon drum that seals, and a bunch of 5 gallon buckets with lids. How long can I store the mixed saltwater in my garage? If it is in the shade in the garage, what could go wrong? If storing the saltwater is not an option, I assume I could store the RO/DI indefinitely and just mix salt 24 hours before I need to use the water? What if I ever have to do an emergency water change? It seems like if it doesn't go bad in a sealed container in the shade, having plenty of saltwater on hand ready to go would be a good idea.

BaleKlocoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/08/2018, 01:41 PM   #2
ReefNomad
Registered Member

Generally, you want to keep most of your storage water as RO/DI, mainly for the ease of storage. RO/DI water is inert, meaning less wear-and-tear on the container and any equipment. Also, in case of an emergency RO/DI can be used for any water needs while premixed saltwater is good only for your aquarium. It definitely doesn't hurt to have enough saltwater for a worst-case scenario, but keeping vast reserves isn't necessary.

With premixed saltwater, you're only limited by your ability to keep the salt evenly mixed in the water over time. In a container, salt mix can slowly precipitate back out of the water and settle to the bottom. As the salt settles out, lower salinity water sinks and lower salinity water rises, creating an imbalance in salinity throughout the container.