Reef Central Online Community
Premium Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Tank Journals & Builds
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/02/2018, 03:09 PM   #26
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
SUMP STAND (Top) (Vibration/Sound) Cushion Foam

This kids Play Foam Padding worked like a charm last time.



Doesn't have to be perfectly Continuous piece to do the job.
I did choose Same Color Purple on the Exposed/Visible side.



And some left over Vapour Barrier tape to keep Foam-Pieces in place during Sump Installation/Drop-in.



Last edited by Wally.B; 03/02/2018 at 03:23 PM.
Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 03:33 PM   #27
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Extra PreCaution (Stand Shift) During Drain/Fill - (Drywall Crack Prevention)

This is overkill once Tank is Fill with Contents and has 1200 Lbs Weight.



Stand is BOLTED to Concrete floor (just TWO Spots).

I can't take a chance the STand will shift when I drain it (And it's lighter)

Slightest Movement/Shift on Stand Could crack my MUD Drywall Joints (Or WORSE, shift and LOOSE LEVELING with Shimmy's coming out of position)


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 05:18 PM   #28
zachogden
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 89
wouldn't you want continuous foam coverage to avoid uneven pressure on the underside of the tank?


zachogden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 05:42 PM   #29
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by zachogden View Post
wouldn't you want continuous foam coverage to avoid uneven pressure on the underside of the tank?
It's just a sump (30 Gallons of water+Stuff), plus the bottom of the Sump Has a Thick Trim to distribute the pressure on the Glass anyway.
It will be perfectly fine (did this before), and the minor spacing will act like a bunch of springs, and foam will compress and expand.
The Tank is continuous foam.


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 05:49 PM   #30
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
I NEED ADVICE ( Got 60 Gallons of new Water Ready, and making more) To do OLD TANK to NEW TANK Transfer

NEW Tank is 110 Gallons, Sump Approx 30 Gals. TOTAL for NEW SETUP(140 Gallons - Rocks)

Old tank has 65 Gallons, Sump 30 Gallon (ALL OLD WATER = 95 Gallons)

SHOULD I JUST FILL UP TANK (110 Gallons) with New Water.
And.....Attached Sump after move (30 Gallon of OLD water)

So it would be effectively a 110 Gallon Water Change on 140 Gallon System (80%) Water Change

That should be ok. Maybe go 90%, Even 100%??????

Plenty of Biology in the Sump, and LOTS of LIVE ROCK for Nitrates and avoid a Significant Cycle.


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 06:32 PM   #31
reefmutt
Registered Member
 
reefmutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mtl. Canada
Posts: 7,787
Hey Wally, why are you so keen on doing a huge water change with this move?


__________________
Matt.

Current Tank Info: 53x32.5x26 190g dt 60g of sumps 3 tank-100 gal frag system 4x AI prime 6xt5 3x150w mh. 4x maxspect gyre. Skimz Dual internal sicce pump skimmer Deltec PF601s ca rx+Kalk stirrer
reefmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 06:34 PM   #32
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Glass Plate (OPTION for Temp Cover)

Miracles provided me a Glass Plate that fits into the Bottom of the Tank.

It fits perfectly in between the Inside Bottom Trim, to make Tank Bottom TOTALLY FLAT (an option, I don't plan to use anymore).



IT won't fit into Tank without being Cut in Half, but I told Miracles not to cut it as a possible Glass Top OPTION.



For now it makes for a handy TANK Cover (Since the plastic Sheeting would always droop into tank and get wet).

I still have the EURO TRIM Hole to fill tank (with the Water I'm making in 30 Gal Garbage Can).


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 06:49 PM   #33
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefmutt View Post
Hey Wally, why are you so keen on doing a huge water change with this move?
One good reason.

Earlier This week I put in a Monti (Doing so/so) From my Frag Tank into the OLD 65 Gal Tank (which I haven't done a water change in 3 months).
Just to test the 65 Gal Tank.

Monti pretty well died in 3 days. Terrible looking, very quickly. (Could have been a ALK shock since no dosing in Frag Tank for 3 months)

So my 3 months of no water changes keeps the Fish Alive, but I don't think the water is SPS quality.

I know the 3 Month Slack on Water changes is a factor, since even my Kitchen Tank (Which is very forgiving) Corals started looking not that great.
I did a Water change couple days ago and they all perked up, and keep getting better each day.

JUST TO BE CLEAR. I've been dosing the 65Gal Tank to keep ALK/CAL stable for Coraline on rocks.
BUT NO WATER CHANGES since the MOVE out Late October.
(Guess I should do a Nitrate, PO4 Test. No tests done either other than ALK/CAL)


I did a reset with you before 80% and no problems (but 80% was in stages).

Plus a big change will really remove any toxins from the Good Old Soapy Dishwater Issue (just before I moved tank)

REMEMBER I have no CORALS at all. Just Fish and Live ROCK.



Last edited by Wally.B; 03/02/2018 at 07:08 PM.
Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 07:04 PM   #34
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
ANOTHER OPTION (JOIN Both TANKS to MOVED SUMP)

Here is an option I thought of.

I have a spare return pump, and enough hoses.

I could just move the SUMP to the SUMP ROOM.

Start Running the NEW TANK with 110Gal of NEW Water on the SUMP, but hook in the 65 Gallon (with old Water) into the SUMP (with old water).
(Ie Two/BOTH Tanks one Sump)

Total Water Volume of the system would be 110+65+30=200 Gallon Approx.

So Adding the 110 Gallon Tank would be roughly a 50 % water change.

THAT WOULD BUY me some time, to move rocks/fish over slowly, and less shock to fish.
Copepod and bacteria would spread through the whole system.

BUT I would NOT want to wait too long since I still have the 65 Gallon Tank in the way of progress on Build.

AND if any toxins they would be diluted, but not eliminated (Not sure if enough dilution)


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 07:29 PM   #35
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
I am preparing to move SUMP.

Will be moved tonight.

I won't hook up new tank to SUMP YET!!

It will allow me to complete 1/2 the move. (Sump in permanent location, but Old tank still hooked up, NEW Tank JUST filling with New Water and right next to sump)

I will See Sump in Sump room to get me a feel for things.

Still won't have enough water to join tank for a day anyway.

But I will have option to do anything I want tomorrow, or Sunday.

At least it's some progress.....


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 07:53 PM   #36
JonezNReef
Registered Member
 
JonezNReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 780
I think your plan of attack will work fine. I have transferred my livestock with little issues too many times and that’s with corals. I think after you hook up the two tanks together on the same sump it wouldn’t take but maybe a day or so for the water to be the same in both tanks.


__________________
"I chop up animals and glue them to rocks"

Current Tank Info: System 1 Mixed Reef: 180g DT,180g Fuge, 120g Sump http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2611735
JonezNReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 09:48 PM   #37
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonezNReef View Post
I think your plan of attack will work fine. I have transferred my livestock with little issues too many times and that’s with corals. I think after you hook up the two tanks together on the same sump it wouldn’t take but maybe a day or so for the water to be the same in both tanks.
I'll sleep on the next step for the New Tank.

For Now I got the Sump in.



FITS's nicely. Love the fact that I got quite a bit of Extra Space back in Sump Room (Even with the bigger Tank).

Cleaned Sump up and that's Approx 20 Gallon Water change on 65 Gal Tank, since I kept the Water from the Refuge.

Now I just have to hook up the 65 Gallon Back into Sump.


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 11:21 PM   #38
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
1/2 Transfer Completed (Sump Running OLD TANK) In Sump Room

It's done. Old Tank is Running again.



Had to turn down Return Pump to minimal since Higher Sump creates a slower drain. New Tank won't be a issue since 100% Vertical Drop.

Was worth doing since got Sump Cleaned up and Particulates will clear up in OLD TANK.

Small water change is a Gradual Step towards New Tank Complete Transfer.


NOW I need to decide next step.

-> Join Both Tanks (OLD & NEW) (and let things run a day or two)
------> Then Start Bringing Fish and Rocks over to NEW TANK, and disconnect OLD TANK.

-> Start up NEW TANK (with the 110Gallon of New water and the 30 Gallon of Mature Water in Sump)

I took a water sample from OLD TANK before the transfer (To see how bad or good it was)

Will do some COMPLETE water tests to help make the Final Decision.


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 01:32 AM   #39
Big E
Registered Member
 
Big E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Euclid, OH
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally.B View Post
I NEED ADVICE ( Got 60 Gallons of new Water Ready, and making more) To do OLD TANK to NEW TANK Transfer

NEW Tank is 110 Gallons, Sump Approx 30 Gals. TOTAL for NEW SETUP(140 Gallons - Rocks)

Old tank has 65 Gallons, Sump 30 Gallon (ALL OLD WATER = 95 Gallons)

SHOULD I JUST FILL UP TANK (110 Gallons) with New Water.
And.....Attached Sump after move (30 Gallon of OLD water)

So it would be effectively a 110 Gallon Water Change on 140 Gallon System (80%) Water Change

That should be ok. Maybe go 90%, Even 100%??????

Plenty of Biology in the Sump, and LOTS of LIVE ROCK for Nitrates and avoid a Significant Cycle.
Use as much of the old water as you can.

One of the biggest mistakes people make is not doing this and they end up losing a handful of acros. I've seen this play out over and over many times over the years.

I'm not totally update to how many corals you have in the old set up.......but either way I'd still do this......you're still going to be adding about 30% new water.


__________________
80g Rimless Acropora System

reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2197142&page=31

Ed

Last edited by Big E; 03/03/2018 at 01:38 AM.
Big E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 06:01 AM   #40
tenurepro
Registered Member
 
tenurepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 270
Progressing along nicely


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


tenurepro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 10:15 AM   #41
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big E View Post
Use as much of the old water as you can.

One of the biggest mistakes people make is not doing this and they end up losing a handful of acros. I've seen this play out over and over many times over the years.

I'm not totally update to how many corals you have in the old set up.......but either way I'd still do this......you're still going to be adding about 30% new water.
Thanks Ed.

I actually have ZERO corals. The few I had are in a friends tank in holding.

My main goal is to get fish and rocks across and run FOLR for a while as I increase my FISH population (for more nutrients). It will take some time for the system to adjust/stabilize.

To achieve adding more fish I think I might be able to use my 65 Gal tank as a short term QT.
I hate doing QT for each fish thus I hope to get as many new fish as I can in one Shot.

While I Shop around for new fish I think I'll join the two tanks and start a slow rock transfer building up the Rocks Scape properly.

WHEN I have fish purchased, I will separate the 65Gal QT tank and run a mini sump.

THESE ARE just my thoughts, since as I do things I may realize things may need to be done differently (or my patience which has been rock solid till now, may run out).


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 10:54 AM   #42
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Tank Transfer (Rock Scape FOUNDATION Build up) with New Water

So I got this idea.



Rather then filling up NEW TANK totally with water, I'll fill it partially as I make more water.

I have the Acrylic Rods that I plan to use on the Base Rocks as Feet.

I can slowly bring Select Rocks over and build the Rock Scape foundation with a LOWER WATER LEVEL (which is easier to work with than a Full Tank).

I have a heater to keep water warm, and can add some circulation for the EVENTUALLY (Two Tank Join to SUMP)


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 03:27 PM   #43
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Update Trip to LFS (Tank Filling, Tunze CARE Strong Glass Cleaner, *** Mega Large Korean Angel **)

The Tank is Full enough to start some Rock Scape work.



Went to LFS to get some Putty, and picked up my TUNZE CARE Glass cleaner.

And check this FISH out I saw at the store.


A Beautiful KOREAN ANGEL (Massive!! )



LARGEST Fish I've Ever Seen in the For Sale Section.

I guess the other fish thought the same, since they would always swim to the other end of the Tank.


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 05:37 PM   #44
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Starting T5 Lighting Fixture (Planning / Wall Work)

I can't speed up Water RO Water making, so moving on.
Rocks will come later since they need to be done properly (can't just pick Top Rocks from Old Tank)



I need to cut away some of the Drywall for T5 to have full tank coverage, and be able to raise Light to Max 12".

If LOWER lighting is needed, 4 out of 6 T5's are on DIMMABLE BALLASTS.

Will BUILD FIXTURE first and adjust things later when hanging.



Last edited by Wally.B; 03/03/2018 at 05:45 PM.
Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 06:33 PM   #45
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
T5 Lighting Fixture Parts (Almost Everything)

Here is all I need for the T5 Fixture.




Except one small problem. (Supplier has a problem counting Pairs)

I have 6 Endcaps/Standoffs but ordered and paid for 6 PAIRS.
Also missing 3 Clips for the Reflectors.
* Unfortunate!! *

Can Build 3 Complete T5's, and the Make Wood Fixtures for all 6 T5's.

Will have to wait for Supplier correction to complete the full fixture.
Since Ballasts run 2 bulbs together, I can only have 1 pair working.
However I can get Sump Room sizing/space done.

Planning to STAIN the Wood Black/PolyEurathane.


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 08:18 PM   #46
tenurepro
Registered Member
 
tenurepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally.B View Post
Update Trip to LFS (Tank Filling, Tunze CARE Strong Glass Cleaner, *** Mega Large Korean Angel **)



The Tank is Full enough to start some Rock Scape work.







Went to LFS to get some Putty, and picked up my TUNZE CARE Glass cleaner.



And check this FISH out I saw at the store.





A Beautiful KOREAN ANGEL (Massive!! )







LARGEST Fish I've Ever Seen in the For Sale Section.



I guess the other fish thought the same, since they would always swim to the other end of the Tank.


Yeah lovely angel... I picked up a fancy wrasse from them yesterday , eating frozen and pellets today.... yay...
Did you get any fish?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


tenurepro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 08:56 PM   #47
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenurepro View Post
Yeah lovely angel... I picked up a fancy wrasse from them yesterday, eating frozen and pellets today.... yay...
Did you get any fish?
Nice fish you got. Eating after just a day, it even better.
No I didn't pick up any fish. Really picky on my selection.
First will be the Black Capped Basslet.
Then....I don't know.

As far as that Huge Angel. It should be in the Ocean, not a Tank. And certainly not in the small tank it is in now.
But comparing Photo's you wrasse looks bigger


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2018, 07:18 AM   #48
reefmutt
Registered Member
 
reefmutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mtl. Canada
Posts: 7,787
Hey wally.. been very preoccupied lately.. I know it’s mute now but without corals, you might as well do whatever is easiest for your situation.. which is, I suppose what you already did!
You can adjust and do wcs as needed in the coming weeks,if you don’t have any corals in the tank right away..


__________________
Matt.

Current Tank Info: 53x32.5x26 190g dt 60g of sumps 3 tank-100 gal frag system 4x AI prime 6xt5 3x150w mh. 4x maxspect gyre. Skimz Dual internal sicce pump skimmer Deltec PF601s ca rx+Kalk stirrer
reefmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2018, 09:55 AM   #49
Wally.B
Registered Member
 
Wally.B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Toronto GTA,Canada
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefmutt View Post
Hey wally.. been very preoccupied lately.. I know it’s mute now but without corals, you might as well do whatever is easiest for your situation.. which is, I suppose what you already did!
You can adjust and do wcs as needed in the coming weeks,if you don’t have any corals in the tank right away..
Thanks Matt.
No I haven't done anything yet. Tank is still Filling with new water.
If it doesn't matter what I do since NO CORALS. Then I'd rather not bring in OLD TANK WATER into the mix.
I'll leave the OLD water 30 Gal in the SUMP, and hook up the New Tank with 110 Gallon of New Water.
Bring some rocks over, bit by bit and it should cycle after I transfer the OLD FISH.
The OLD tank with OLD water will just sit there for a QT TANK on a separate Mini Sump.


Wally.B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2018, 12:29 PM   #50
tenurepro
Registered Member
 
tenurepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally.B View Post
Nice fish you got. Eating after just a day, it even better.

No I didn't pick up any fish. Really picky on my selection.

First will be the Black Capped Basslet.

Then....I don't know.



As far as that Huge Angel. It should be in the Ocean, not a Tank. And certainly not in the small tank it is in now.

But comparing Photo's you wrasse looks bigger


Yeah I am as also concerned about the well fare of the angel in that very small tank
Black capped basslets are nice. Have you made up your mind about sand? I ask because I think sand dwelling wrasses in the genus Helicores (spelling) and Macropharyngodon are often great for pest control in sps tanks; known predators of red bugs, aefw and monti eating nudis... they do not eradicate pests but they can keep their populations in check. I would consider adding some sand in a shallow container behind the rock work.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


tenurepro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.