Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/04/2018, 10:02 PM   #1
FishNick
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Persistent Cupramine Dosing

Hey guys, I have a quick question! So I am currently using a spare 5 gal tank to treat a small clownfish I got for my reef tank I am building. This is my second time in the hobby and I have been very, very tedious with how I go about things. I lost all of my fish a few years ago, and I believe it was due to a lack of quarantine practicing. (Never did it)

This time around I am doing things right! While I know a 5 gallon is a small, tempermental tank to be using for a quarantine, its only temporary. However, being that it is small, I am having to do frequent water changes.

My question is, how do you guys maintain proper copper levels when you have to do water changes? I have read that copper levels are to slowly rise over 5-7 days, and then maintain stability for weeks to properly treat, but how does one maintain a balanced copper level with water changes? Any tips or tricks?

Thanks guys!


FishNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 09:55 AM   #2
Dmorty217
Saltwater Addict
 
Dmorty217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vandalia OHIO
Posts: 11,249
You try to have enough of a bacterial population to avoid having to do water changes. I assume you're doing water changes because of ammonia? DO NOT use a water conditioner with cupramine FYI


__________________
Fish are not disposable commodities, but a worthwhile investment that can be maintained and enjoyed for many years, providing one is willing to take the time to understand their requirements and needs

Current Tank Info: 625g, 220g sump, RD3 230w, Vectra L1 on a closed loop, 3 MP60s, MP40. Several QTs
Dmorty217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 02:12 PM   #3
FishNick
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Ammonia exactly. I have a sponge filter I set in my DT so it could help seed the tank. And no, I do not use water conditioner. I've read it does not react well with copper. I just use good ol RO/DI water


FishNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 03:19 PM   #4
bnumair
Dr. Reef at ur service
 
bnumair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa, Ok, USA
Posts: 7,781
Blog Entries: 15
when you make replacement saltwater say its 20 gal at a time or 50 gal at a time just put cupramine in that water according to Seachem recommendation on dosing. so everytime you change water in your QT it will keep cupramine at stable level and not increase or decrease.
Note: use that medicated water only for QT.


__________________
Water Quality: NO3 0,Phos 0,Cal 440,Alk 7.5,Mag 1300

"Reef Fast, You Crash, Reef Slow, You Pass" Mike's Reef 3:16

Current Tank Info: 350g DT,95g sump, 50g Frag tank, 4800gph return 4x Sea swirls. 6x AI Vega Color. 200# Pukani rock, dual recirculating skimmer, Biopellet, GFO Carbon rx's, Cal rx. Closed loop. 1.5hp chiller, genesis renew. Apex & RKE
bnumair is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 08:02 PM   #5
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 87,477
I agree that dosing the replacement saltwater will work. That's what I would do, if I were stuck making water changes. Hopefully, the sponge will get going soon.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 10:25 PM   #6
tkeracer619
Registered Member

 
tkeracer619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 17,090
Dose the copper to the makeup water.

It's certainly best to establish the tank early on before dosing copper. Ammonia test kits don't work particularly well. I use seachems ammonia alert badge.


__________________
Hobby Experience: 9200ish gallons, 26 skimmers, and a handful of Kent Scrapers.
Current Tank:
Vortech Powered 600G SPS Tank w/ 100gal frag tank & 100g Sump. RK2-RK10 Skimmer. ReefAngel. Radium 20k.
tkeracer619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 11:50 PM   #7
FishNick
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Thanks guys! I'll get some water set up.


FishNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.