Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/06/2018, 04:12 PM   #1
Fnic99
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 51
Chloramine and RODI Filtration

I found out my local water provider uses Chloramine to treat drinking water. I was not aware that most RODI filters cannot remove Chloramine. I use an RODI filter that has always tested 0 TDS. I really donít want to buy a new RODI filter. What are my options? Are there any additives that can help?


Fnic99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/06/2018, 04:16 PM   #2
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member
 
Vinny Kreyling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 5,409
Best option is another carbon block.
Talk to Spectrapure or Buckeye Hydro, both sponsors here on RC.
They will set you straight.


__________________
250 gallon mixed reef, 2 Reefbreeder's Photon V 2, RD 3 Speedy 80 Watt, DAS EX-3 Skimmer, MTC mini cal, 2-3/4" Sea Swirls, Aquacontroller & 4 Tunze pumps.
Vinny Kreyling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/06/2018, 04:20 PM   #3
Fnic99
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 51
Thanks Vinny. How does it work? Is it a canister that goes on the system before the RODI unit? Any other options?


Fnic99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/06/2018, 04:24 PM   #4
Vinny Kreyling
Registered Member
 
Vinny Kreyling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miller Place, NY
Posts: 5,409
My understanding it's another canister that goes right behind the present one.


__________________
250 gallon mixed reef, 2 Reefbreeder's Photon V 2, RD 3 Speedy 80 Watt, DAS EX-3 Skimmer, MTC mini cal, 2-3/4" Sea Swirls, Aquacontroller & 4 Tunze pumps.
Vinny Kreyling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/06/2018, 07:50 PM   #5
BrettDS
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,074
These were very helpful for me when I was just trying to figure this out.

https://youtu.be/tEL8KvDr3-k

https://youtu.be/GZQBDqZzu04


BrettDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/06/2018, 07:56 PM   #6
bif24701
Registered Member
 
bif24701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida, FWB
Posts: 3,428
You need to be testing the water after it passes the carbon for chlorine and chloramines. There should have been some test strips with your RODI system or you can get some from BRS, donít cost much. If your getting any chlorine or chloramines in the waste water of the RODI then you either need to change the carbon blocks or get a second, or both. These will also degrade the RO membrane so itís critical that you test and ensure non are getting through. A lot of times one carbon block can handle chloramines but not as long, that why two is better.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
180 Mixed Reef
SRO-5000 Skimmer
Neptune APEX Gold
Kessil AP700/ MP60+6105
Kalk+2 part/ Cheato Fuge

Current Tank Info: 180 SPS Dominant
bif24701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 03:51 PM   #7
Fnic99
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 51
Thanks everyone for the responses.


Fnic99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2018, 05:39 AM   #8
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 5,798
You'd get an add on housing and put it upstream, or "in front of" your existing system. Move your sediment filter to the new housing. Put your Chloraguard filter where your sediment filter used to be. Easy-peezy.

Russ


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2018, 08:47 AM   #9
baringcs
Registered Member
 
baringcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TX
Posts: 1,000
Russ,

Just be clear...on placement of chloraguard and carbon block filters

source water-->sediment-->chloraguard-->carbon-->ro-->di--> 0tds water ?


__________________
Steve

My Tanks
50x30 ABS Tub & a 48x24 frag tank at the moment
265 (84x24x30) build someday
baringcs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2018, 08:56 AM   #10
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 5,798
Correct. Assuming you have the pore size on the sediment filter sized correctly, you should put the carbon block WITH THE HIGHEST CAPACITY right after the sediment filter.

Russ


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.