Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/06/2018, 06:17 PM   #1
NanoReefWanabe
A Pico Vase Guy
 
NanoReefWanabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,556
My reef 2.0 net mod help

As most of you know help through DA IS useless and unobtainable...

I down loaded the my reef Mobil app, it is asking me for the url of my net mod... how do I find this?


NanoReefWanabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 03:13 PM   #2
NanoReefWanabe
A Pico Vase Guy
 
NanoReefWanabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,556
dang no internet savvy poeple using a reef keeper set it up to make it work from Mobil phone?


NanoReefWanabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/14/2018, 01:30 PM   #3
NanoReefWanabe
A Pico Vase Guy
 
NanoReefWanabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,556
Bump


NanoReefWanabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/14/2018, 09:22 PM   #4
DesertReefT4r
Registered Member
 
DesertReefT4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mesa Az
Posts: 724
You wont find much info on any issues with DA Reef Keepers sadly. Ime using it to hooking up online is near impossible. I still really like Reef Keeper controllers and just got my second used RKL. Im missing the usb part to hook it up to a PC for MyReef 2.0 and module updates, I dont expect to be able to find one easily. The super high cost of an Apex has kept me from getting one price needs to drop on Apex Jr and Apex Classic. Especially now the new wireless system has been out for a while now.


__________________
Tank history 29g tropical ,55g cichlid tank, 20H softy reef, 29g mixed reef, 20H brackish goby & puffer tank, 55g mixed reef, 6g Nanocube softy lps reef, 40B sps reef, 75g sps reef, 75g sps reef in bu

Current Tank Info: 75g sps reef build in the works.
DesertReefT4r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2018, 02:52 PM   #5
cedwards04
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 196
Have you tried a Google search. I can't figure out where I saved it at the moment, but I ran across an article showing how to connect it all up for remote access from anywhere. Hope this helps.


cedwards04 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2018, 05:21 PM   #6
ayckorea
Registered Member
 
ayckorea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertReefT4r View Post
You wont find much info on any issues with DA Reef Keepers sadly. Ime using it to hooking up online is near impossible. I still really like Reef Keeper controllers and just got my second used RKL. Im missing the usb part to hook it up to a PC for MyReef 2.0 and module updates, I dont expect to be able to find one easily. The super high cost of an Apex has kept me from getting one price needs to drop on Apex Jr and Apex Classic. Especially now the new wireless system has been out for a while now.
I just checked DA still have the SID on stock in their website


ayckorea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2018, 06:10 PM   #7
n2585722
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar Park, Tx
Posts: 1,582
The URL it is asking for is how you get to the NET module from the internet. This has to be setup on you router and you will need a ddns service unless you have a static IP address for you internet address which is doubtful.


n2585722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2018, 06:45 PM   #8
NanoReefWanabe
A Pico Vase Guy
 
NanoReefWanabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by n2585722 View Post
The URL it is asking for is how you get to the NET module from the internet. This has to be setup on you router and you will need a ddns service unless you have a static IP address for you internet address which is doubtful.
Yes this is what I want help with...i am not a total idiot when it comes to computers but.... but this sort of stuff is well beyond my best efforts..


NanoReefWanabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/15/2018, 07:01 PM   #9
n2585722
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar Park, Tx
Posts: 1,582
Unfortunately there are a lot of different routers on the market. The setup will be somewhat different from router to router. The only one I have any experience at is the one I have. It has been several years since I used the NET module also. I now have the Archon and it not compatible with the NET module. I have a build thread that has information on settting up a router for the Archon. There is not a lot of difference between the setup though. Unfortunately I cannot link to it on this forum. It would not be hard to find google Canopy and Stand Build for 42 Gallon Hex Tank. Talking about router setup is post #67. Hope it is some help. Glad to answer question either here or on the build thread.


n2585722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/16/2018, 06:00 PM   #10
NanoReefWanabe
A Pico Vase Guy
 
NanoReefWanabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,556
Ooh man that would be tonnes of help if my head didn't from reaching it all...i will have to try again...i must saggy absolutely amazing write up though... cannot believe how detailed it is


NanoReefWanabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/17/2018, 07:08 AM   #11
cedwards04
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 196
I'm going to be attempting this soon as well, so if you get it figured out let me know. Maybe we can help each other. I just purchased a used system but I'm having some other issues with it so until I get those bugs worked out I am not wasting my time on the net module lol. I may have to return it to the seller.


cedwards04 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/17/2018, 07:17 AM   #12
n2585722
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar Park, Tx
Posts: 1,582
Do you have any low power pumps like Aqualifter or Koralia's attached to the PC4's?


n2585722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/17/2018, 11:11 AM   #13
n2585722
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar Park, Tx
Posts: 1,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by n2585722 View Post
Do you have any low power pumps like Aqualifter or Koralia's attached to the PC4's?
Sorry got this on the wrong thread.


n2585722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/17/2018, 06:24 PM   #14
NanoReefWanabe
A Pico Vase Guy
 
NanoReefWanabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by n2585722 View Post
Sorry got this on the wrong thread.
Lol ironically enough no


NanoReefWanabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/18/2018, 06:29 AM   #15
cedwards04
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 196
I'm running 2 jebao pp4's off a pc4, but using the supplied controller to control them obviously.


cedwards04 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/18/2018, 08:19 AM   #16
n2585722
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar Park, Tx
Posts: 1,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by cedwards04 View Post
I'm running 2 jebao pp4's off a pc4, but using the supplied controller to control them obviously.
Those are DC controlled pumps right? The issue only applies to the small AC pumps. The issue is when they are powered off they create a back EMF pulse of several hundered volts. This can cause all kinds of issues with the controller. A surge protector with a 330 volt clamping voltage between the pump and PC4 will usually cure the issues.


n2585722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/18/2018, 02:07 PM   #17
cedwards04
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 196
Yeah I'm pretty sure the jebao's are dc pumps.


cedwards04 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.