Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 10/26/2005, 08:32 AM   #1
earraval
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 98
orp calibration

Hello Curt,
can I use the the pinpoint 400 ORP/REDOX, high precision calibration solution to calibrate my orp probe?? if yes how am I supposed to do it?? I was reading the instruction of my AC-Pro, and seems that I need a 2 solutions (7 and 10) plus chrydrone !! tks,
Ed


__________________
Ed

Current Tank Info: 1000Lt Tank, Deltec 702, Mazzara Led, Apex Controller, Littermeter pumps.....
earraval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/26/2005, 10:54 AM   #2
clp
RC Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,311
If the Pinpoint ORP calibration solution is like any of the other premade ORP solutions, then it is not very accurate. Anyway you'll have to manually adjust the ORP offset if you calibrate with a reference we don't support. Here is how you can do it:

Put the ORP probe in the 400 solution.
With the controller in the run display note the ORP reading.
Now go to the hidden manual calibration menu. To do so go to the self test display (second screen on AC2). Press the up button twice, the down button twice, and then the select button.
Select ORP manual cal.
Adjust the ORP offset up or down depending on the reading in the run display. For example say the ORP probe reads 390 instead of 400, then the ORP offset needs to be increase by 10. Leave the ORP scale unchanged since this is a single point calibration.

Curt


clp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2005, 05:44 PM   #3
plaz
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 586
We just got our unit and are planning to use a Hannah ORP probe that was given to us. Do we need to calibrate?


plaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/31/2005, 09:14 AM   #4
clp
RC Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,311
I don't know anything about the Hannah probe so I can't tell you. If the probe is new, it will likely have a breakin period of several days and will initially read low.

Curt


clp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014