Reef Central Online Community
The Filter Guys

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > West Region-Reef Club Forums > Southern California Reefers
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/02/2006, 06:53 AM   #1
Bergovoy
Moved On
 
Bergovoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monrovia, CA
Posts: 2,164
swimming pool pump for a salt water tank???

Can I use a swimmning pool pump for a fish tank?? Is there some differences or concerns that I should be aware of?

The specs are:

1-1/4" Electric water pump with strainer designed to pump, clean and filtering. Featuring high performance 1HP motor with stainless steel shaft and thermal overload protection for maintenance-free operations that give 3960Gallons Per Hour. Ideal for swimming pools, spa, fountain liquids, and other industrial applications.



Photo is in in the gallery

r


Bergovoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/02/2006, 07:04 AM   #2
redox
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SOBX
Posts: 2,128
I used them for years but the seals arent made for salt water and.... salt water will destroy them so... their life is not as long. I didnt have to pay for mine so it didnt matter . Hayward super pumps are what I used


redox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/02/2006, 10:24 AM   #3
cthetoy
Registered Member
 
cthetoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 1,896
1 HP motor will increase your electric bill by $$$. It will pay to get a more energy efficient pump ie. Sequence Dart.


cthetoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/02/2006, 10:43 AM   #4
cayars
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey
Posts: 662
How do you think a 1 HP motor will increase the electric bill by $$$? Do you think all us pool owners with even bigger motors add hundreds of dollars to our electric bill during the summer months?

But I'd agree that size motor is way overkill for all but the largest home aquariums! Imagine the overflow needed to handle that.


cayars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/02/2006, 11:28 AM   #5
Bergovoy
Moved On
 
Bergovoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monrovia, CA
Posts: 2,164
I am confused. It makes sense that the bigger HP would be more expensive, but cayars, is that a point that pool owners do not pay 'dramatically' higher rates?

The tank I have, which is sitting on my livign room floor right now, is 180 g, (72x24x24)

I have not sized the sump / refugium yet as I think I have to size the pump along with the sump at the same time. (yes / no ??)

I need to get the tank off the ground. I need to get a stand, or build it. And the decision needs to happen within the next hour!!!

Bill


Bergovoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/02/2006, 11:58 AM   #6
marcrothschild
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arcadia Ca
Posts: 1,102
A pool does add significant cost to the electric bill. The difference is that you can set the pool filter to run only 4 hrs a day...you make up the difference in the addition of chlorine. An aquarium pump is 24-7


marcrothschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/02/2006, 12:02 PM   #7
marcrothschild
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arcadia Ca
Posts: 1,102
BTW, I just noticed you are in monrovia...call me if you need some advice/help. I will pm you my number.


marcrothschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/02/2006, 12:28 PM   #8
laverda
Premium Member
 
laverda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Irvine, So CA
Posts: 4,960
I agree your eletric bill will be sky high with a 1 HP, especailly as you will not be able to use most of the flow.
I have a one 1/15 HP Spa pump with salt water seals on my 240. It is rated at 3500GPH at 4 feet. My over flow can not handle that much flow, so I have to restrict the pump by about 1/4-1/3 I would guess.


__________________
240G reef, 24G nano reef

Current Tank Info: 240g reef with light mover, 29g Cardiff, 150g propagation system.
laverda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/03/2006, 06:27 AM   #9
redox
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SOBX
Posts: 2,128
I was running 2 -1hp pumps in the gh I calculated their wattage to be 1000 ea,way too much money to run. They rocked the vats and fish had to be healthy to survive the current. I stepped down to gen-X pcx40s and cut my wattage by more than half and still have the flow I need. The pool pumps do push alot of water but... the heat given off by those suckers aint worth the flow. Trust me when I tell you thats too much pump!!! I have two sitting around here in the scrap pile,pay shipping and you can have one to try. these puppys ran on 220 but you can wire them for 110 . if the flow is too high you can just dump back to the sump or use the flow to connect seperate systems. Bergovy if you havent bought one yet and still want to try it my offer still stands ,shipping is all it will cost you to find out and laverda by restrickting the flow of that pump you are making it pull more power, I would dump it back to the sump before I restrcted the flow


redox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014