Reef Central Online Community
Blue Zoo Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/29/2008, 02:19 AM   #1
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
Join in my 90g build! Pic EXTREME!!!!

I am pretty excited to get this tank going as it has been in the works for a long time now. Any comments are very welcome.

I will be glueing my plumbing today so please point out any potential problems.


Here is a full tanks shot. I started this thread a little late as I am half way through my build.



I think am going to do something a little different with the stand and attach 1/2 inch oak plywood with magnets. I hope it looks good! we will see.


Here is a shot of what I am working on now, the plumbing. I will be glueing it today if all goes as planned.



I was thinking of adding a 90 degree elbow on the end of the output so the water shoots to the left of the sump. This will allow more time for bubbles to disapate.

Here is a shot of the output from the sump to tank. This is gong to be tweaked a bit. I have a 6" loc line ( a bendable pipe ) that I do not want completly submerged. I also need some of the pipe to be submerged so I can drill some anti-siphon holes. Not sure how that is going to work yet.



I hope you will stick around for the ride! More to come soon!


danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 05:04 AM   #2
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
I always seem to forget about something when I am planning so I did a google sketch up of my canopy.



My actual reflectors are quite a bit longer and wider. This drawing is pretty much to scale besides the metal halides. To keep my VHO Actinics bellow the reflector they had to be lowered, but this dosn't leave much room to get a hand in the tank. I am thingking of mounting them from the bottom of the canopy.

This is all the stuff sitting in my closet that I am itching to get hooked up and running!



My dog on a car ride.





Last edited by danceswithfish; 01/29/2008 at 05:28 AM.
danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 05:20 AM   #3
crzy_pig
Premium Member
 
crzy_pig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Menifee Valley, California
Posts: 133
Looks great so far! What size is your return pump?
On your hood, have you thought about hinging the front ? you could mount the front T5\VHO to it and it would just swing up and away when getting into the tank?
Great idea about using magnets on the wood cover!!


__________________
"Drizzle, drazzle, druzzle, drome, time for this one to come home."
-Mr. Wizard

Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. Give a fish a man, and he'll eat for weeks!

Current Tank Info: RSM
crzy_pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 05:35 AM   #4
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
Hey crzy

I am running mag 7 which is 700 gph and about 400 gph at 5'. That is a great idea about the having the lights swing up with the hood. I was trying to steer away from that because of all the wiring but I think it might work.


__________________
Click on my name, "danceswithfish" then click on "visit danaceswithfish's homepage!" to see my 90g build!
danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 02:37 PM   #5
kau_cinta_ku
Moved On
 
kau_cinta_ku's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 8,669
looks like a good start however having your return pump hard plumbed like that is gonna cause alot of vibrations. it is best to use vinal tubing off the mag then connect it to the pvc.


kau_cinta_ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 04:07 PM   #6
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
I never would have thought of that. Thanks Kau. I think I am gong to try and use the hard pipe fist and see how it goes. Now I know how to fix it if it is a problem though!


__________________
Click on my name, "danceswithfish" then click on "visit danaceswithfish's homepage!" to see my 90g build!
danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 04:09 PM   #7
kar93
Registered Member
 
kar93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 5,521
Looking Good so Far, Tagging Along.


kar93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 04:33 PM   #8
jrpdriver
Registered Member
 
jrpdriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 1,463
As long as there is slight pressure on the pump it will not vibrate, if the pipe is a little too short and the pump is not firm against the sump you will get vibration

Your set-up is looking great so far!


jrpdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 05:21 PM   #9
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
Thanks guys. I am pretty sure there will be slight presure on the pump from the plumbing.

I am just about to put a few dabs of silicone under the pump to reduce vibration.


__________________
Click on my name, "danceswithfish" then click on "visit danaceswithfish's homepage!" to see my 90g build!
danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 05:41 PM   #10
fish4lyfe
Registered Member
 
fish4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: cedar park, texas!
Posts: 367
can't wait to see this up and running


__________________
Send me pictures of your fish, or fishtanks i would love to see them!

Current Tank Info: 29 gal
fish4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 06:05 PM   #11
Mikeeee
Registered Member
 
Mikeeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, B.C
Posts: 501
I thought that picture with your dog on it looked familiar. Where in BC? i feel like i have been there haha.


Mikeeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 06:16 PM   #12
rjsilvers
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 537
I can't tell from the pics, but would you mind telling us what size the sump is?


rjsilvers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 07:10 PM   #13
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
fish - This bad boy should be up and running pretty quick now. My favorite lfs is out of aragonite though, I hope the other stores sell it.

Mike- I am from Kamloops BC. You might recognize the sage brush that is in the back ground of that pic with my dog.

rj - The sump is a 30g. I am really glad that I got this size because the skimmer takes up quite a bit of space.

More pics comming tonight!


__________________
Click on my name, "danceswithfish" then click on "visit danaceswithfish's homepage!" to see my 90g build!
danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 07:49 PM   #14
relaxednature
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 325
which ER skimmer is that?


relaxednature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 07:55 PM   #15
McTeague
Moved On
 
McTeague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Posts: 501
How is FIVE pictures "pic extreme"? That is false advertising man!


McTeague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 10:29 PM   #16
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
relax - that skimmer is the euro-reef rs 135.
Mc- ha ha sorry man, more pics are comming right now!

I didn't get to glueing the plumbing today, I realized that I needed to do afew things before it was done.

I did silicone some black acrylic over my glass overflow. Looks alot better then the glass.



I was worried that I would get silicone everywhere in the display, but it came out pretty nice.



If you remember the silicone job on my sump you will understand why I was worried about getting silicone in the display.

I also mounted my powerheads today.




I am gong to connect the two poweheads using a tunze single controller.

When I mounted the powerheads I discovered that the hangers come over the side of the tank a fair bit. This is going to be a problem because the hangers will be in they way of my canopy. The only solution I can come up with is to cut the canopy a bit so it slides over.



I think this thing is gong to be running in no time! I better start making ro/di water soon!


__________________
Click on my name, "danceswithfish" then click on "visit danaceswithfish's homepage!" to see my 90g build!
danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2008, 10:36 PM   #17
alve
Registered Member
 
alve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 312
Looking great so far!

You could get the magnet holders for the Tunze's so you won't have to worry about changing your canopy plans and you could move around. I am using them on my 6101's and they work great.


alve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2008, 08:48 AM   #18
coralnut99
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bushkill, PA
Posts: 3,632
Planning bare-bottom?


__________________
Why can't my wife see this stuff as an investment?

Current Tank Info: way too much to list, and still adding more!
coralnut99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2008, 09:07 AM   #19
Fun $ Pit
Registered Member
 
Fun $ Pit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Collierville, Tennessee
Posts: 302
Get the magnetic holders for those powerheads.. canopy problem solved!


__________________
Thank you. Drive Thru!

Current Tank Info: 180G - See my Gallery
Fun $ Pit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2008, 01:44 PM   #20
Twz
Registered Member
 
Twz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 628
What magnet are you planning on using for your stand?
i just welded up a stand for my 65 in progress and i was just going to bolt the plywood to the steel but i love your idea so much more
(I'd be able to get into the stand in the front and both sides


Twz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2008, 01:44 PM   #21
Twz
Registered Member
 
Twz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 628
What magnet are you planning on using for your stand?
i just welded up a stand for my 65 in progress and i was just going to bolt the plywood to the steel but i love your idea so much more
(I'd be able to get into the stand in the front and both sides)


Twz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2008, 03:08 PM   #22
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
Hey guys. I would love to get the magnet holders, but the lfs that sells stuff like tunze is far away and I would have to have them shipped. I think I might order them though, they look pretty handy.

coral nut- I am planning on doing a deep sand bed, but I am going to start with about 2 inches of fine aragonite because I am cheap, and I don't want to pay.

Twz- I saw circle magnets that werer about 1 inch across and about a 1/4 inch deep at my local hardware store. Package said they would hold 10 kg which should be more then enough. I was going to drill a hole in the wood and glue the magnet in. This way you can have full access to under your tank! I have to addmit that this was not my idea. I found a thread here on rc where someone did this.


__________________
Click on my name, "danceswithfish" then click on "visit danaceswithfish's homepage!" to see my 90g build!
danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2008, 04:56 PM   #23
lfjewett
Registered Member
 
lfjewett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 275
Sooo.. When I first built my tank and stand a few years ago I took a good 2 months to build my stand. Part of my design was that the entire bottom was caulked / painted / and coated with 3 coats of spar urethane. Some might say that was excessive but I didn't want a sump overflow or such to ruin my nice stand.

Fast forward 2 years and I sping a leak ( small one ) in my return plumbing to the sump. It goes unnoticed for awhile ( my sump is now in a room behind the tank ) until one day I open my stand and find a nice pool with about 4 galons of water in it. The sealed nature of my stand did collectively save my carpet..

So why do I bring this lovely story up? In looking at your design up there. your sump is sitting directly on the carpet? If thats your plan you should be aware, one day., far far into the future you might regret it.


lfjewett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2008, 09:04 PM   #24
danceswithfish
Registered Member
 
danceswithfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 491
lfjewett- Close, it is some sort of vinyl flooring. I am taking every precation I can think of to prevent a flood, but if it does flood I am hoping it will all drain into the appartment bellow me. Just kidding.

I am pretty paranoid of having a flood so I trying to take precautions. I will make it so that my intake from my overflow to sump wont get clogged with anything and I wont put so much water in my sump that it will overflow when the power is off. Also I am going to drill afew holes in the input line to the display to break a siphon if the power goes out.


__________________
Click on my name, "danceswithfish" then click on "visit danaceswithfish's homepage!" to see my 90g build!
danceswithfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/31/2008, 06:47 AM   #25
coralnut99
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bushkill, PA
Posts: 3,632
Quote:
Originally posted by danceswithfish
lfjewett- Close, it is some sort of vinyl flooring. I am taking every precation I can think of to prevent a flood, but if it does flood I am hoping it will all drain into the appartment bellow me. Just kidding.

I am pretty paranoid of having a flood so I trying to take precautions. I will make it so that my intake from my overflow to sump wont get clogged with anything and I wont put so much water in my sump that it will overflow when the power is off. Also I am going to drill afew holes in the input line to the display to break a siphon if the power goes out.
One of the easiest things to forget over time, is to keep the siphon-break holes clean. They do clog rather easily.


__________________
Why can't my wife see this stuff as an investment?

Current Tank Info: way too much to list, and still adding more!
coralnut99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.