Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Invert and Plant Forums > Other Invertebrates
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/12/2012, 09:10 AM   #1
rgauvin
Registered Member

hermit crab ID help please

so I'm very new to the SW world. I tossed in a hermit crab into my tank that I thought was really cool, sure enough, the LFS said he was reef safe and just called him a hermit crab, but in trying to look up more information on him, I think he may not be reef safe.

Is this indeed a white spotted hermit crab (Dardanus megistos)? He's a pretty decent size and has tonnes of character but I think I may have to bring him back if he is as I want to start my tank as a FOWLR (low quantity of fish) tank but turn it into a reef tank as I get more confident in my abilities and that I won't kill everything.

I'm told white spotted hermit crabs are not reef safe and that they'll eat tube worms, corrals, and even fish if they can catch them, but my LR came with a feather duster, and he has left it alone, he actually has a feather duster growing in the shell beside him (not visible in the pics sadly)that he doesn't appear to have touched.

rgauvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/12/2012, 09:32 AM   #2
donya
Registered Member

It is not Dardanus megistos. I think have seen photos of this species once before...Paguristes sericeus is coming to mind, but that could be incorrect since my memory is fuzzy and I haven't had any coffee yet this morning.

Current Tank Info: 3 fw tanks (2x20g and 1g), 10 sw tanks (0.9g, 3x1g, 1.5g, 3g, 5g, 10g, 20g, 55g)
donya is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/12/2012, 09:46 AM   #3
rgauvin
Registered Member

Paguristes sericeus doesn't appear to be reef safe either, but the pictures do seem to be about right. Darn, I love this little guy, I guess I may need to find him a new home...

Unread 02/12/2012, 11:19 AM   #4
donya
Registered Member